MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER
At the end of WWII Aggies wanted a memorial to those Aggies who had made the ultimate sacrifice in the nation’s past wars as well as those who might fall in future conflicts. The students also wanted a Student Union. The Aggies decided to combine the two and dedicated the new facility on Muster in 1951. The Memorial Student Center (MSC) became both the Aggie living room and a memorial. There are 55 oak trees planted around General OR Simpson Drill Field on the north side of the MSC to recognize the 55 Aggies who died in WWI. Inside the MSC is a hallway and individual plaques to recognize the eight Aggies who were awarded the Medal of Honor. The renovated MSC has retained the iconic Flag Room in addition to the bookstore, dining facilities, a bank, meeting rooms, three art galleries, study areas, recreational facilities, and retail. Foremost it remains a living memorial and is the reason hats are not worn inside nor is the grass walked on.